Warning: Use of undefined constant W3TC_POWERED_BY - assumed 'W3TC_POWERED_BY' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/customer/www/himalayanfootsteps.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/google-webfont-optimizer/google-webfont-optimizer.php on line 342
Everest Marathon - Himalayan Footsteps

Furba Tamang

Furba Tamang of Lukla wins Everest marathon.

21 year old Furba Tamang of Lukla has won the Tenzing Hillary Everest Marathon 2009 completing the 42 km long marathon in 3 hours 40 minutes and 47 seconds.

30 year old Ram Kumar Tamang of Lukla finished second with a time of 4h 07m 02s while 23 year old Sudeep Kulung of Gudel Solukhumbu finished third with a time of 4h 9m 48s.

The event is organised every year on May 29 to pay tribute to late Tenzing Norgay Sherpa and late Sir Edmund Hillary-the first persons to summit Mt. Everest in May 29, 1953.

More than a hundred participants with 52 international runners from a dozen countries including India, Germany, USA, Austria, England and Canada are taking part in the event.

The 56th anniversary of the first successful ascent of Everest is being celebrated Friday. Adventure Sports Tourism Society started this event in 2003 on the occasion of 50th anniversary of the successful ascent of Everest.

Runners will be awarded in three categories. The first, second and third runners to finish from general category will get USD 1000, 500 and 300 respectively, while from the international category the first, second and third will get USD 500, 300 and 200 respectively.

The event is famous worldwide as a marathon that takes place in the highest altitude of the world. It starts from the Everest expedition base camp, just below Khumbu Ice-fall, which is above 5000m from the sea-level and finishes at Chor.

The 42 km long marathon route passes through glaciers, moraines, monasteries, monuments, chortens and suspension bridges all located at high elevations. The famous Tyangboche Monastery also lies on the route. The route is the same one used by pioneer mountaineers Tenzing Norgay Sherpa and Late Sir Edmund Hillary during their expedition in 1953. nepalnews.com May 29 09